A Thousand Forests in One Acorn
- 0 %
Der Artikel wird am Ende des Bestellprozesses zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt.

A Thousand Forests in One Acorn

An Anthology of Spanish-Language Fiction
Sofort lieferbar | Lieferzeit: Sofort lieferbar I

Unser bisheriger Preis:ORGPRICE: 12,99 €

Jetzt 12,98 €*

Valerie Miles
eBook Typ:
Adobe Digital Editions
eBook Format:
Adobe DRM [Hard-DRM]

Featuring 28 extremely influential Spanish-language authors, each of whom selected the "ultimate highlights" of his or her writing career.
A Thousand Forests in One Acorn: An Anthology of Spanish-Language Fiction brings together twenty-eight of the most important Spanish-language writers of the twentieth centuryseveral of which will be familiar to English-language readers, like Carlos Fuentes, Javier Marías, and Mario Vargas Llosa, and many who will be new revelations, such as Aurora Venturini, Sergio Pitol, and Elvio Gandolfoand provides them with a chance to discuss their careers and explain the aesthetic influences behind the pieces they chose to include in this volume. Unlike other anthologies, the stories and excerpts collected here were selected by the authors themselves and represent the "high point" of their writing career.Valerie Milestranslator, editor, and co-founder of Granta en españolnot only curated perhaps the greatest cross-section of contemporary Spanish-language literature to be anthologized, but also brings to this collection original interviews with every author, along with biographic prefaces before each, in order to best introduce the reader to the author's entire oeuvre and his or her literary impact.Breathtaking in scope and historical detail, this anthology will no doubt become a fixture in personal literary collections, as well as a go-to resource for classrooms and libraries alike.Valerie Miles is a publisher, writer, translator, and the co-founder of Granta en español. She is also the co-director of The New York Review of Books in its Spanish translation and, in 2013, was voted one of the "Most Influential Professionals in Publishing" by the Buenos Aires Book Fair.Contributors:Rafael ChirbesEdgardo CozarinskyJose de la ColinaCristina Fernandez CubasAlfredo Bryce EcheniqueJorge EdwardsAbilio EstevezRafael Sanchez FerlosioCarlos FuentesElvio GandolfoJuan GoytisoloJavier MariasJuan MarseAna Maria MatuteEduardo MendozaJose Maria MerinoAntonio Munoz MolinaHoracio Castellanos MoyaRicardo PigliaRamiro PinillaSergio PitolEvelio RoseroAlberto Ruy SanchezEsther TusquetsHebe UhartMario Vargas LlosaAurora VenturiniEnrique Vila-Matas
A Thousand Forests in One Acorn: An Anthology of Spanish Language FictionEdited by Valerie MilesINDEXPROLOGUEAURORA VENTURINI (Argentina, 1922) From The CousinsRAMIRO PINILLA (Spain, 1923) From The Blind AntsANA MARÍA MATUTE (Spain, 1926) From The Forgotten Kin GudúRAFAEL SÁNCHEZ FERLOSIO (Spain, 1927) From The Testimony of YarfozCARLOS FUENTES (Mexico, 1928) From Terra NostraJORGE EDWARDS (Chile, 1931) The Order of the Families From The Death of Montaigne From Persona Non GrataJUAN GOYTISOLO (Spain, 1931) From The Blind RiderJUAN MARSÉ (Spain, 1933) From Last Evenings with TeresaSERGIO PITOL (Mexico, 1933) By Night in BukharaJOSÉ DE LA COLINA (Spain, 1934) The Final Music of the TitanicESTHER TUSQUETS (Barcelona, 1936) Summer OrchestraHEBE UHART (Argentina, 1936) From Moving Him Training the IvyMARIO VARGAS LLOSA (Peru, 1936) From The Way to Paradise From The Feast of the GoatALFREDO BRYCE ECHENIQUE (Peru, 1939) From A World for Julius ApplesEDGARDO COZARINSKY (Argentina, 1939) From Far from SomewhereJOSÉ MARÍA MERINO (Spain, 1941) From The Dark Shore Fly The Toaster The Coffee Cup The House with Two DoorsRICARDO PIGLIA (Argentina, 1941) From The Absent CityEDUARDO MENDOZA (Spain, 1943) From The Truth About the Savolta CaseCRISTINA FERNÁNDEZ CUBAS (Spain, 1945) The Journey From The Year of Grace Angle of HonorELVIO GANDOLFO (Argentina, 1947) The Moment of ImpactENRIQUE VILA-MATAS (Spain, 1948) From Because She Didn’t AskRAFAEL CHIRBES (Spain, 1949) From Crematorium ALBERTO RUY SÁNCHEZ (Mexico, 1951) From Mogador: The Names of the AirJAVIER MARÍAS (Spain, 1951) From The Man of Feeling When I was Mortal From Tomorrow in the Battle Think on Me From Dark Back of TimeABILIO ESTÉVEZ (Cuba, 1954) From The Sleeping MarinerANTONIO MUÑOZ MOLINA (Spain, 1956) From The Polish Horseman From SepharadHORACIO CASTELLANS MOYA (El Salvador, 1957) From SenselessnessEVELIO ROSERO (Colombia, 1958) Lucia or: The PigeonsBIBLIOGRAPHYACKNOWLEDGEMENTS