The Awakening & Other Stories

The Awakening & Other Stories

12,80 €*

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt. | zzgl. Versand
226 g
156x102x23 mm

Chopin, KateKate Chopin was born in St. Louis in 1850 to a Creole mother and an Irish father. Educated at St Louis' Sacred Heart Academy, Chopin went on to reject her Catholic faith and embraced a free-thinking philosophy inspired by writers such as Darwin and Huxley. In 1870 she married Oscar Chopin, who died in 1882 of yellow fever. A widow at only 32 with six children, she eventually moved home to St Louis where she began writing fiction. She completed three novels and close to one hundred short stories which were published in prominent magazines such as Atlantic Monthly and Vogue. She died in 1904.

Readers and critics were scandalized by The Awakening when it was first published, but it is now regarded as among the boldest and earliest examples of feminist fiction. It is published here with a selection of Chopin's strikingly perceptive short stories and introduced by Dr J. Michelle Coghlan, a specialist in American literature.

Part of the Macmillan Collector's Library; a series of stunning, clothbound, pocket-sized classics with gold foiled edges and ribbon markers. These beautiful books make perfect gifts or a treat for any book lover.

In The Awakening, Edna Pontellier is on holiday with her husband and two young children at a sleepy resort town on the Louisiana Gulf Coast. There, she is pursued by the charming and unmarried Robert Lebrun. Edna doesn't play by the rules; flirtation turns into an affair that awakens in Edna her desire to break away from her passionless marriage, her children and the strict conventions of nineteenth-century society.

The best of Kate Chopin's powerful feminist short stories, edited and introduced by Dr J. Michelle Coghlan.
The best of Kate Chopin's powerful feminist short stories, edited and introduced by Dr J. Michelle Coghlan.
Introduction - i: Introduction by Michelle Coughlan Chapter - 1: The Awakening Chapter - 2: The Storm Chapter - 3: Lilacs Chapter - 4: Fedora Chapter - 5: Her Letters Chapter - 6: A Respectable Woman Chapter - 7: The Kiss Chapter - 7: A Shameful Affair Chapter - 8: Suzette Chapter - 9: A Mental Suggestion Chapter - 10: A Point at Issue! Chapter - 11: A Vocation and a Voice Chapter - 12: Madame Célestin's Divorce Chapter - 13: A No-Account Creole Chapter - 14: A Pair of Silk Stockings Chapter - 15: An Egyptian Cigarette Chapter - 16: Miss Witherwell's Mistake Chapter - 17: Wiser Than a God Chapter - 18: Elizabeth Stock's One Story Chapter - 19: A Matter of Prejudice Chapter - 20: Ozème's Holiday Chapter - 21: Miss McEnders Chapter - 22: The Story of an Hour Chapter - 23: The Recovery Chapter - 24: Désirée's Baby Chapter - 25: La Belle Zoraïde Chapter - 26: Regret Chapter - 27: The Locket Chapter - 28: Athénaïse

Kunden Rezensionen

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.