Der Artikel wird am Ende des Bestellprozesses zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt.

All Our Names

 EPUB
| Lieferzeit:3-5 Tage I
ISBN-13:
9781444793765
Einband:
EPUB
Seiten:
264
Autor:
Dinaw Mengestu
eBook Typ:
Adobe Digital Editions
eBook Format:
EPUB
Kopierschutz:
Adobe DRM [Hard-DRM]
Sprache:
Englisch
Beschreibung:

Dinaw Mengestu wurde 1978 in Äthiopien geboren, mit zwei Jahren kam er mit seiner Familie in die USA, wohin der Vater aus politischen Gründen geflohen war. Er studierte Literatur und erhielt 2006 ein Schreibstipendium von der New York Foundation for the Arts. Dinaw Mengestu hat Kurzgeschichten in Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, mit seinem ersten Roman Zum Wiedersehen der Sterne feierte er bereits Erfolge in den USA, Großbritannien und Frankreich. Dinaw Mengestu lebt in New York.
In Uganda, two young men get caught up in a revolt against the post-colonial regime in the early 1970s. As the line between idealism and violence becomes increasingly blurred, the friends are driven apart - one of them into the deepest peril. In a quiet town in the America Midwest, an exotic stranger arrives: an exchange student from Africa called Isaac. Helen, the social worker asked to help him settle in, quickly falls for him, though she soon learns to keep their affair hidden from prejudiced eyes. And she soon realises that Isaac is haunted by his mysterious past. Switching back and forth between Africa and America, this taut, searing novel blazes with insights about the physical and emotional geographies that circumscribe our lives. Writing within the tradition of Naipaul, Greene, and Achebe, Mengestu gives us a political novel that is also a transfixing portrait of love and grace, self-determination, and the names we are given and the names we earn.
In Uganda, two young men get caught up in a revolt against the post-colonial regime in the early 1970s. As the line between idealism and violence becomes increasingly blurred, the friends are driven apart - one of them into the deepest peril. In a quiet town in the America Midwest, an exotic stranger arrives: an exchange student from Africa called Isaac. Helen, the social worker asked to help him settle in, quickly falls for him, though she soon learns to keep their affair hidden from prejudiced eyes. And she soon realises that Isaac is haunted by his mysterious past. Switching back and forth between Africa and America, this taut, searing novel blazes with insights about the physical and emotional geographies that circumscribe our lives. Writing within the tradition of Naipaul, Greene, and Achebe, Mengestu gives us a political novel that is also a transfixing portrait of love and grace, self-determination, and the names we are given and the names we earn.