Der Artikel ist weiterhin als ^^OTHERCONDITION^^ verfügbar.
Autor: James Wood
ISBN-13: 9780804151900
Einband: EPUB
Seiten: 304
Sprache: Englisch
eBook Typ: Adobe Digital Editions
eBook Format: EPUB
Kopierschutz: Adobe DRM [Hard-DRM]
Systemvoraussetzungen
Der Artikel wird am Ende des Bestellprozesses zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt.

Broken Estate

Essays on Literature and Belief
Geben Sie Ihre Bewertung ab!  
Wir verlosen jeden Monat unter allen freigegebenen Rezensionen
3 Gutscheine im Wert von 20 Euro. Teilnahmebedingungen
This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and destiny in our lives. In a series of essays about such figures as Melville, Flaubert, Chekhov, Virginia Woolf, and Don DeLillo, Wood relates their fiction to questions of religious and philosophical belief. He suggests that the steady ebb of the sea of faith has much to do with the revo-lutionary power of the novel, as it has developed over the last two centuries. To read James Wood is to be shocked into both thinking and feeling how great our debt to the novel is.In the grand tradition of criticism, Wood's work is both commentary and literature in its own right--fiercely written, polemical, and richly poetic in style. This book marks the debut of a masterly literary voice.
This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and destiny in our lives. In a series of essays about such figures as Melville, Flaubert, Chekhov, Virginia Woolf, and Don DeLillo, Wood relates their fiction to questions of religious and philosophical belief. He suggests that the steady ebb of the sea of faith has much to do with the revo-lutionary power of the novel, as it has developed over the last two centuries. To read James Wood is to be shocked into both thinking and feeling how great our debt to the novel is.In the grand tradition of criticism, Wood's work is both commentary and literature in its own right--fiercely written, polemical, and richly poetic in style. This book marks the debut of a masterly literary voice.

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.

 

Rezensionen

Autor: James Wood
ISBN-13 :: 9780804151900
ISBN: 0804151903
Verlag: Random House Publishing Group
Seiten: 304
Sprache: Englisch
Sonstiges: Ebook, Maximale Downloadanzahl: 6